'Howard Linskey writes simply, without frills. The storyline of Behind Dead Eyes is easy to follow and doesn’t jump around between different years and dates. His three main characters are nice but not charismatic. What he has got in his favour is the ability to compel his readers to turn the page. It is 1995. Tom Carney, a writer of true crime books, is persuaded to look into a conviction for murder that may be a miscarriage of justice. Journalist Helen Norton digs into criminal misbehaviour in local government. DI Ian Bradshaw chases a killer. Their paths cross and sometimes unite.'

The Times on Behind Dead Eyes 

'This is splendid stuff. It is further proof that Linskey (whose The Drop burst on to the crime scene with incendiary force in 2011) is one of the most commanding crime fiction practitioners at work today.' 

The Financial Times on Behind Dead Eyes

‘No Name Lane is lacerating fare but it never falters.’

Financial Times

‘This is one of those books that I open intending to just taste it and a few hours later find myself reaching the last page. Linskey's deceptively simple and mild style conceals a powerful punch.’ 

The Literary Review

‘Linskey could turn out to be very good indeed.’

The Daily Mail

‘Howard Linskey has staked out the North East as his territory. Linskey has a light touch and exuberantly memorable storytelling.’

The Sunday Express 

‘This is a well-crafted crime story. Linskey has created an intricate and engaging story that moves at a good pace. There are regular twists and surprises and the story gathers momentum as it proceeds but the book's real pleasure lies in the vividly described setting of County Durham and Linskey's skilful weaving in of the local dialogue and the wry humour of the inhabitants. This is a good start to a promising new series that will appeal to fans of Peter Robinson and Mark Billingham.’

Sydney Morning Herald

‘Linskey has taken a routine cold case investigation crossed with a murdered girls spree and elevated it to a level of complexity and humanity seldom approached by British writers previously,  without detracting from a killer plot.’

Maxim Jakubowski - Lovereading

‘Linskey delivers a flawless feel for time and place mixed in with unrelenting pace.’

The Times

‘Howard Linskey is one of the best new writers around and this is the start of a must-read series.’

Mark Billingham

‘Howard Linskey does for Newcastle what Ian Rankin has done for Edinburgh.’

New York Journal of Books

‘A Tyneside Dashiell Hammett to put Martina Cole firmly in her place.’

The Times

‘Howard Linskey is a great new voice for crime fiction.’

Harry Potter producer David Barron

‘Gripping and convincing.’

Kimberley Chambers

‘A new master of the gripping, gritty thriller. Intrigue and urban darkness. Howard Linskey takes you right to the heart of it.’

Paul Finch

‘An emotional, gripping, and pulse-pounding crime novel to start what is certain to be a brilliant new series from Howard Linskey.’

Helen Fitzgerald

‘Serial killer thrillers don't come much better than No Name Lane. Old secrets and terrible new crimes woven into an immensely satisfying, utterly compelling narrative, which keeps you constantly guessing. Fans of Linskey's critically acclaimed David Blake series will already know what an outstanding author he is, everyone else...prepare to add another name to your must-read list.’

 Eva Dolan

‘Howard Linskey is one of crime fiction's best-kept secrets. An exciting and intelligent writer with a sure eye for plot. Discover him before others do.’

Stav Sherez
 

‘No Name Lane is an assured novel, brilliantly told by one of the best new authors to emerge on the British crime scene in decades.’

Tony Black

‘Linskey weaves together a compelling and twisty tale that gripped me from page one. If you like Val McDermid’s thrillers, you’ll love this.’

Mark Edwards

‘Howard Linskey’s first three novels made him a name to be watched. No Name Lane propels him into the Premier League. Well on his way to being a major new talent.’

Martyn Waites